English

It’s time to innovate. Why the life science industry needs robots more than ever

The life science industry – defined as pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, med tech and nutraceuticals – is expected to reach sales of 1.9trillion USD by 2022. While it’s positive for the industry to have a growth rate that defies the continued price pressure, individual companies will see increased competition. In fact, given the continuously evolving trends in life science, even legacy companies run the risk of being outcompeted.

In order to stay ahead of the pack, and take advantage of the growing space, brands must take a leaf from the biotech players and become innovation first movers. Cutting edge technology like Autonomous mobile robots (AMRs) will help businesses compete better, by increasing worker safety, productivity and flexibility, all with a fast ROI.

Workflow optimization

Allocating manual transportation tasks to resilient, intelligent AMRs optimizes workflows. Not only does this free up employees to complete value adding tasks, it also removes risky or time consuming human errors from the process. Unlike AGVs and forklift trucks, autonomous mobile robots can make intuitive decisions based on data, cameras and sensors to take the best routes and avoid obstacles. All of this speeds up production while optimizing the batch quality, and minimizing costs from wasted time and materials.

Flexibility

All of the autonomous mobile robots from MiR can be equipped with different top modules such as shelves, conveyor bands, robotic arms or hooks. This means they can be customized to meet specific business needs. What’s more, the fact they are easy to set up and use, optimizes uptime and allows manufacturers to respond fast to changing demands. Their impressive range of safety settings means they can work collaboratively with humans, further aiding the flexibility of supply chains.

 

Full functionality in sterile environments

Due to the strict hygiene regulations of medical manufacturing, many workhours can be wasted on the gowning and ungowning of protective clothing. This was the case with Argon Medical Devices, the global medical manufacturer. After they implemented a MiR200 AMR to transport instruments from the cleanroom to the warehouse they could redeploy employees to more valuable activities. The time saved, was the equivalent to the work of one full-time employee, giving Argon a return on investment of just one year.

 

Want to compete better with AMR? Calculate the ROI you could see when you do.

 

Get inspiration for how to solve the logistics challenges in the life science industry

English

中国

当前正是创新的时机。为什么生命科学行业对机器人产生了空前的需求?

到 2022 年,包括制药、生物技术、医疗技术和营养品在内的生命科学行业的销售额预期将达到 1.9 万亿美元。生命科学行业的增长率可以缓解持续的价格压力,这是一个积极的现象,但各家公司面临的竞争也将日趋激烈。事实上,鉴于生命科学行业发展趋势的持续演进,甚至一些老牌公司也面临着在竞争中淘汰出局的风险。

为了在竞争中保持领先,充分利用不断增长的市场空间,各个品牌必须依托生物科技公司率先开展创新。类似自主移动机器人 (AMR) 的先进技术将能够提高员工安全性、生产力和灵活性,快速产生投资回报,从而帮助企业更好地展开竞争。

工作流程优化

将人工运输任务分配给灵活的智能 AMR 可以优化工作流程。这样不仅可以将员工解放出来,让他们从事增值的工作,还能够杜绝流程中高风险、耗时的人为错误。与 AGV 和叉车不同,自主移动机器人能够基于数据、摄像头和传感器,进行直观的决策,选择最佳路线,避开障碍物。这样可以加快生产速度,同时优化产品质量,避免浪费时间和材料,从而最大程度降低成本。

灵活性

来自 MiR 的所有自主移动机器人都可以配备不同的顶部模块,例如货架、传送带、机器人机械臂或挂钩。这意味着它们可以定制,以满足特定的业务需求。除此之外,它们还具有易于设置的优点,这样可以增加正常工作时间,让制造商能够快速响应不断变化的需求。它们提供一系列安全设置,这意味着机器人可以与员工协作,从而进一步提升供应链的灵活性。

 

恶劣环境下提供全面功能

由于医疗产品制造受到严格的卫生监管,很多工时浪费在穿脱防护服上。全球性医疗产品制造商Argon Medical Devices同样如此。在他们采用MiR200 AMR完成将仪器从洁净室运输到库房的工作之后,员工得以重新安排,从事更有价值的工作。这样节省的时间相当于一名全日制员工的工作量,仅在一年时间内就为Argon带来了投资回报。

 

希望利用 AMR 提升竞争力? 计算您在使用 AMR 时可以看到的投资回报。

 

为如何解决生命科学产业中的物流挑战提供启示

中国